[Discussions and New Ideas] Improve ION DAO Governance Participation Rate

Hi, Community!

I guess this is my first time uploading a draft proposal on the ION forum using an account that is not the IBCindex.osmo account.

Today, I want to initiate a discussion on the goal of achieving a higher governance participation rate in the ION governance. Hope active involvement will be made here.

As we all know, the turnouts of most ION Proposals exceeded the 30% governance quorum limit by an extremely thin margin.

Until now, the governance quorums can be reached by sending frequent governance reminders to many communities.

• ION DAO Twitter & IBCX Twitter
  • Validators’ Telegram Group Chats (Forbole, DHK DAO, OmniFLix, POSTHUMAN, B-HARVEST, Bro_n_Bro, strangelove)
    ^ The purpose of this was for some ION whale stakers to see possibly the governance reminder (Check the Tweet for more details)
  • Osmosis Telegram Group Chats (Official-EN, Siberia, and others for various languages)
  • Cosmos Telegram Group Chats
  • Manually contact to whose ICNS addresses match ION stakers’ addresses
    ^ By the way, manually contacting stakers who are distinguishable by their ICNS addresses via Twitter is better to be the last-minute option in the case that there are no more choices, in my opinion.
  • Make transactions that send a small amount of OSMO to all ION stakers with a memo filled with the governance reminder texts
  • Cosmos/Osmosis Reddit
  • ION DAO/Osmosis Discord

The above items did actually work, and we made 4 more passed proposals so far after the recently rejected one (due to the quorum).

However, we should consider coming up with further solutions.

• We can’t find the whale stakers, and there are no promises that the whale stakers will participate in future governance. Not to mention governance participation is not mandatory and is totally up to stakers’ choices.